google analytics

Monday, May 26, 2014

Signed Sealed Delivered

This is a must see show! It airs Sunday nights on Hallmark channel.
Here is a little about the show:
Signed, Sealed, Delivered 
The new original series "Signed, Sealed, Delivered" is a wonderful combination of romance, comedy and drama that follows the lives of four postal detectives who transform themselves into a team of detectives to track down intended recipients of undeliverable mail. Their missions take them out of the office where redirected letters and packages can save lives, solve crimes, reunite old loves and change futures by arriving late but somehow always on time. The team includes charming Oliver O’Toole (Eric Mabius), the group's leader is a man of faith who prayerfully approaches his work with the goal of making a difference in people's lives; new team member, Shane McInerney (Kristin Booth), a technophile who brings 21st century sensibility to the group; free-spirited, “girl next door” Rita Haywith (Crystal Lowe) who has a photographic memory; and lovable Norman Dorman (Geoff Gustafson), a master in conventional research methods.

In the episode I reviewed, It featured a letter written to an "older me". The girl was a delightful girl with Down Syndrome who was sure she would marry the boy she liked in the future. The letter had such charm and innocence to it that the postal group decides to help find the owner of the letter.
Through everything they learn during the search, they provide great insight into the couples lives and future.

I am a huge fan of this show! I have seen every episode. Not only is it funny and has a great group of actors and characters, I love how family friendly the show is. The show provides us with an hour of entertainment which is perfect for families to watch together and discuss. It makes you think and is full of all emotions.
I recommend checking it out for yourself. You won't be disappointed!
You can also learn more about the show and creator at these sites:
Hallmark Channel
Martha Williamson (creator)

Disclosure: I was granted access to an early preview of the episode in order to do my review. No other compensation was given

Wednesday, May 7, 2014

Maybelle in Stitches by Joyce Magnin


Maybelle Kazinzki can’t sew. She was after all, the only girl in the seventh grade Home Economics class to sew the zipper in the neck hole of the A-Line dress they were supposed to make. But when she finds an unfinished quilt in the attic of her mother’s house she gets the crazy idea to finish it—somehow, come heck or high water. She thinks it will help fill the lonely nights while her husband, Holden, is serving overseas during World War II.
Her recently departed mother’s quilt is made from scraps of material Maybelle traces back to her mother’s childhood, her grandmother’s childhood and her own childhood. She tries to add one of Holden’s stripes to it but the sewing is not going well and neither is her life. After receiving some harsh news, Maybelle’s faith falters and she puts the quilt away and stops trusting God. But God is faithful- no matter what. And it’ll take a group of neighborhood women armed with quilting needles to help Maybelle believe that.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book as it took us on a journey through World War II. I found it interesting to see it from the women's side of it, as they are at home waiting to hear something, anything, from their men.  What a difference it was compared to life now of 24 hour news. The women had to be strong all the time as they survived alone with no knowledge of what their men were dealing with.
I loved how the women all spent time around the quilt talking, sharing and encouraging each other. This makes for a great story, and is also a great reminder of how we should live and encourage others.
There are some great lessons applied to the story and the characters have great depth to them.  It is truly a interesting and well written book. I highly recommend it.

Disclosure: I received a print copy of the book in exchange for an honest review

Friday, April 18, 2014

The Amazing Spider-Man 2 - OFFICIAL Trailer - In Theaters May GREAT GIVEAWAY!

I was able to review a wonderful discussion guide that goes alongside the new Amazing Spiderman movie hitting theaters May 2, 2014!
We actually used the guide as part of our language arts class for my son. He enjoyed the guide a lot. He was impressed with the thought process that was in each section and how the questions made you search yourself to find the true answers.
I agree that it is set up in a fun and encouraging way that allows kids of all ages to be involved in the discussion and be creative with responses.
After you enjoy the trailer, don't forget to enter the giveaway in order to win your own prize package that includes a T-Shirt, phone case and paper mask!
Lots of fun for the Spiderman enthusiast


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Disclosure: I received a prize package mentioned above for free in exchange for sharing about it on my blog. I recommend products which I feel would be a good fit for my readers.

Thursday, March 27, 2014

Dancing with Fireflies by Denise Hunter


Jade returns home to Chapel Springs after years of protecting her fragile heart. Then along comes Daniel, making her long to dance again.

Creative and complicated, Jade McKinley felt like a weed in a rose garden growing up in Chapel Springs. When she left, she thought she'd never look back. But now, pregnant, alone, and broke, she has no other choice but to return.
The mayor of Chapel Springs, Daniel Dawson, has been an honorary member of the McKinley family for years. While his own home life was almost non-existent, Daniel fit right into the boisterous McKinley family. He's loved Jade for years, but she always saw him as a big brother. Now that she's back, his feelings are stronger than ever.
As Jade attempts to settle in, nothing feels right. God seems far away, she's hiding secrets from her family, and she's strangely attracted to the man who's always called her "squirt." Finding her way home may prove more difficult than she imagined.


As part of the Chapel Springs Romance series, this book is a wonderful addition. I love how Jade's reaction to her situation and the way she deals with it shows real emotion. This would not be an easy thing to live with and I was grateful it wasn't a "quick fix" but allowed the reader full exposure to her life and thoughts. 
Daniel's character was a lot of fun. He was such a part of the family, it was hard for Jade to see him in a different light. The reader is drawn into the relationship from the beginning and allowed access to both sides along the way. It was a fun reminder that God has a plan and it might be something we can't wrap our minds around until just the right moment.
Denise Hunter writes with such emotion and depth that you feel a part of the family as you read this book.
I highly recommend it and can't wait to read the next book!

Disclosure: I received a print copy in exchange for an honest review.

Friday, March 21, 2014

It Had to be You by Susan May Warren

Eden Christiansen never imagined her role as her younger brother Owen’s cheerleader would keep her on the sidelines of her own life. Sure, it feels good to be needed, but looking after the reckless NHL rookie leaves little time for Eden to focus on her own career. She dreamed of making a name for herself as a reporter, but is stuck writing obits—and starting to fear she doesn’t have the chops to land a major story. If only someone would step up to mentor Owen . . . but she knows better than to expect help from team veteran and bad-boy enforcer Jace Jacobsen.
Jace has built his career on the infamous reputation of his aggressive behavior—on and off the ice. Now at a crossroads about his future in hockey, that reputation has him trapped. And the guilt-trip he’s getting from Eden Christiansen isn’t making things any easier. But when Owen’s carelessness leads to a career-threatening injury and Eden stumbles upon a story that could be her big break, she and Jace are thrown together . . . and begin to wonder if they belong on the same team after all.
I have loved every book of Susan May Warren's that I have loved. This book was no different. This is Book 2 of the Christiansen Family Series. I love how the author draws you in to the characters lives and you become part of the story.  Each character had a well thought out story and the interaction between them was real and down to earth. I loved watching Eden as she grew from being an over-protective sister to the realization that she deserved her own live also.
Watching her learn to trust Jace was so real. It can be hard to put away the past and hope for a better future, but we see a relationship of truth and forgiveness that everyone can relate to in some way.
The addition of the mystery of John Doe, and Jace's relationship with Sam and his daughter Maddy, only make the book more genuine in the way the characters dealt with tragedy and the unknown. While learning to rely on their faith, they progress through stages easily understood by others.
This is a book where you will love the journey just as much as the ending.  You don't want to miss this story! You will find the addition of a prequel and more included. There are some great discussion questions which would be great for a book club.
Disclosure: I received a print copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Tuesday, March 18, 2014

A Sky without Stars by Linda S. Clare

Book Summary:

Frankie Chasing Bear is caught between cultures. She wants to raise her son Harold to revere his Lakota heritage, but she knows he will need to learn the white man’s ways to succeed. After the untimely death of her husband, Frankie joins the U.S. Government’s Relocation Program and moves to Arizona. There she begins sewing a Lakota Star pattern quilt for Harold with tribal wisdom sung, sewn, and prayed into it.
A bed without a quilt is like a sky without stars, but neither the quilt—nor her new life—comes easily to Frankie. Nick Vandergriff, for instance, is the last man Frankie wants to trust. He’s half-Lakota but Christian, and Frankie can see no good coming from that faith after her own parents were forced to convert at an Indian school. Can Nick convince Frankie that white men and Christians aren’t all bad? And will Frankie learn that love is the most important ingredient—for her son’s quilt and life itself?


A Sky without Stars is part of the Quilts of Love series. I enjoyed following the story of Frankie and learning about her heritage. Trying to stay connected in a world where it isn't as easily accepted can be difficult. I thought the author did an amazing job of sharing a deep insight into the life of Frankie and her son Harold. It read as very realistic. I felt along with her as the story developed.
The relationship between Frankie and Nick was honest and mature. There were so many aspects of the story where they appeared as just a real couple dealing with life together. In my opinion, this allowed me to really connect with the characters.
This is a book worth reading! I look forward to reading more books within this series.

Disclosure: I received a print copy of the book in exchange for an honest review. My opinions are my own and may differ from others.

Wednesday, March 12, 2014

Leather Charm Bracelet

Disclosure: I got this product as part of an advertorial.

I was given the opportunity to review this charm bracelet from
This company offers many different items and has some great daily deals for you to choose from.
You will want to check it out and see what original finds they have.

For the bracelet I reviewed, I received a pink and white leather bracelet. It is made with 3 strands of the material, each with a silver alloy charm on it. It has an adjustable dangling clip to allow it to fit any wrist.
While I would have preferred another color if I had chosen, I have enjoyed wearing this and like the feel of it. The charms are nice and not gaudy.

This is a great example of how the bracelet fits. The only thing I think would make it better would be if the 3 strands were sturdier. They are well made, but they don't tend to actually stay in place but more overlap with the other strands.

Check out the website and see what great deals you can find for  yourself!

I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.