google analytics

Monday, November 26, 2012

Affairs of the mind: Chibi

Affairs of the Mind: Chibi

"An Apple for a Rose"

By Jwan Jordan

  • Comic
  • my rating is 4 out of 5 stars
         This is a fun book read in a comic layout. You have the artwork and a few words per page about the story. The book is about someone trying to get an apple out of a tree. The girl really feels the tree wants her to have the apple but she is  having difficulty getting it down by herself. She needs help from her friends. She brings in the friends she feels have resources to help her get the apple to fall from the tree. We watch the different ideas the friends bring with them, and see how it works. Finally we see her get the apple she's worked so hard to receive!
           This is a cute book. It's a quick read with a clear and easy story.  The artwork is great also.  Although I wish there was a little more to it, it puts across a theme that is well supported and encouraging. 
           I enjoyed reading this comic style book and encourage everyone to give it a read.

I am honored to have had the chance to interview the author and ask some questions. 
Hope you enjoy!

1. What inspired you to write your first book?
     Well, my father Kenneth Jordan was a stuntman in L.A. and he also worked at Walt Disney Studios. While at Walt Disney Studios, I had many fortunate opportunities to watch some of Disney's classic cartoons created. I believe that's when I fell in love with comics, cartoons and all things related.

2. What book are you currently reading?
    I am currently reading LIFE by Chris Brady & Orrin Woodard and the Sherlock Holmes collection.

3. Do you have any advice for someone who is wanting to become an author?
    I suggest taking a writing class. If you can not take a college course, then look into your local community for classes. You will be surprised how many writers gather together in your area.
Take the advice from experienced writers, and never be afraid to ask questions.

4. What was your inspiration for writing this specific book?
    I've struggled with depression all my life and my grandmother used to always tell me "All the affairs of life come from your state of mind" Eventually I began to educate myself on ways to fight depression.Through exercise, meditation. education and vitamins I began to keep my depression at bay.
When I began to write comics it seemed like a perfect mix to add comics with my grandmother's philosophy.

5.  What is the daily life of an author like?
     It can be pretty interesting at times. I've met so many unique and talented  people. I often spend most of my time writing by the window. I'm always brainstorming on new ideas and preparing the next issue. When I'm not working on books, I am setting up motivational seminars and art classes for those interested.

6. How do you come up with ideas for your books?
    I've always had a big imagination and it doesn't take much to get it going. Watching an ant carry food back to its home can give me a mass of ideas. Needless to say, like most writers, I'm easily distracted.

7. What is your favorite thing about writing books?
     I enjoy having an abstract idea from my mind become a concrete object I can show others. It never ceases to amaze me how much people enjoy reading my books and how often I get to be a part of other people's lives  in a positive way through my books. It really helps me to feel like I have a purpose in this world and hopefully I can help others who suffer from depression also. 

For those interested in requesting me for a motivational seminar or to speak to at their school or community event can contact me at or through my facebook page

Disclosure: I received an ebook of this comic for the purpose of doing this review and interview. I did not receive any other compensation. My opinions are honest and my own.

Saturday, November 24, 2012

For the Future Generations


For the Future Generations(book 1)

by Anastasia Faith

  • science/Fantasy
  • Christian Fiction
  • young adult
  • my rating is 4 out of 5 stars
         This is a delightfully fresh outlook on dealing with one of the most talked about issues today...abortion.
This book is written unapologetically from a Christian perspective and is 100% pro-life. Instead of being a "preachy" book, it creates a dramatic story that shows the ins and outs of life and how the choices we make affect the future generations.
         In this story, we are time traveling through different time periods in order to create the relationship between the characters and the way the people live. We are brought in when the US has fallen and is now Middle Country. We are shown how abortion was a cause of the fall. We follow Matthia through an assignment and see how life is and how hard it is to be a Christian and be against abortion in a society where it is encouraged and seen as normal. Along the way, Matthia meets up with Declan, who works with her through the times. They are to distribute vieos which speak out against abortion. This is a very dangerous thing to do when everyone is pro-choice and Matthia is seen as the enemy.
         As we begin to become involved with the characters, we learn more about their lives and how they were directly influenced by the abortion issue.
        The message overall is how we need to turn back to God. We have allowed other things to become more important. We see that each life has a purpose and changes need to be made. What we do now will ultimately effect future generations. 
         This is a really interesting book and is the author's first novel. I highly recommend reading it. I look forward to future books in the series

Disclosure: I received a PDF of the book in order to do my review. I received no other compensation. My opinions are honest and all my own.

Thursday, November 22, 2012

Now That's Romantic Giveaway!

What a perfect time to plan something special for your spouse! Enter to win this book of romantic ideas for a evening together!

Now That's Romantic!
Intimate Themed Dinners for Romantic Special Occasions
by author
Kim Moore
  Full Review by Rebecca @ Love2EncourageYou  Now That's Romantic by Kim Moore was carefully constructed to help couples enhance their marriages and spark more fun and romantic times together. The book comes with all the adventure and imagination your heart could ever wish for to inspire the perfect creative mood for a lovely themed dinner and special evening with the one you love. There are six complete roomscapes which are included in this stunning, hardcover book with full color illustrations. Each reader will get something different out of this delightful gift! Now That's Romantic comes with everything presented in a very organized fashion from beautiful pictures of the exciting roomscape ideas, handy check lists, music suggestions and creative ideas on what to wear to add to the fun experience.
I highly recommend purchasing a copy of "Now That's Romantic" and trying to surprise your husband or wife this holiday season with a memory making themed dinner. It looks like so much fun!
You can follow Kim Moore and her ideas from Now That's Romantic on Facebook! You can also keep up with her tweets on Twitter.
PRIZE: One winner will receive an autographed hardcover copy of Kim Moore's book: Now That's Romantic! $29.95 value DATE: Giveaway ends on December 5, 2012. LOCATION: Must be a resident of the US lower 48 states only. AGE:  18+yrs Please enter the giveaway using the Rafflecopter form below. You must complete the mandatory entries first then they will unlock the additional optional entries. a Rafflecopter giveaway Disclosure: Lost Island of Book Reivews did not receive any compensation for publishing this post except for a link on the giveaway form. Love2EncourageYou and Lost Island of Book Reviews are not responsible for sponsor prize shipment. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook.

Tuesday, November 20, 2012

Homeschool your 1st grader

Homeschool Your First Grader

by Beth Jones

  • Educational/Homeschool
  • my rating is 5 out of 5 stars

                      This is exactly the book I wish was available when I started to homeschool. When we started to homeschool 15 yrs ago, we were without a lot of support. We didn't have any groups close by, friends that homeschooled, everyone told us we were crazy and no idea what we were doing!
                       This book covers all the questions you might have when beginning the process of deciding to homeschool. The author answers even the tough questions such as "Can I really do this?" with such confidence, that you really feel her support. The answer is "Yes", First grade is not that difficult, You can do it! She helps to alleviate any fears you might have starting out. You begin to understand that you know your child best, you know how they learn the best and shows you ways to teach to that learning style.
                        The author gives great advice on how to homeschool legally, the variety of curriculum options, and what to teach. You are encouraged to make your child a part of the process, to find out their interests, how they think they can learn the best, and gives you wonderful helps for creating your own ideas how to teach. 
                        You have to read this book, It is written in straight forward language which makes it very easy to follow and understand. You will feel more confident about your choice to homeschool after reading this book!

Disclosure: I received an ebook copy of the book in order to do this review. No other compensation was given. All opinions in this review are honest and my own.
I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using <a rel="nofollow" href=""></a>. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Tuesday, November 13, 2012

win a year supply of BIZ Stain Fighter

What a great opportunity to win a year supply of great stain fighter! Who doesn't need to fight stains?! Don't wait, Enter now!

BIZ Stain Fighter: Win a 1 Year Supply! 


Brought to you by:
and Rebecca @ Love2EncourageYou. 
Special thanks to our CoHost, Mama Bee Does.
You can read the Full Review by Rebecca @ Love2EncourageYou It is my pleasure to share with you about this incredible secret weapon for getting out tough stains from your laundry - introducing BIZ Laundry Stain Fighter!
We really like the way the BIZ Detergent Booster + Multi-Purpose Cleaner worked on cleaning the pollen/algae build up off the top of our lounge chairs and patio table out back by the pool and with cleaning the soap grime off the bath tub and shower stalls.I tend to have to put some muscle into it when I clean the bathrooms, but with BIZ you can use less of your own muscle as BIZ flexes its own muscles and does a super job breaking up the soap residue while you clean. I love it! When doing the laundry and trying to beat the toughest stains like ketchup, blood, sweat and grass stains, I believe using the liquid Biz Stain Remover was just as effective if not MORE effective than our previous stain remover brand! Go here if you'd like a $2.00 off coupon so you can try it! I'm very impressed with the BIZ product line and all its helpful and practical applications. A+ from me on customer satisfaction! BIZ gets Five Stars!! Follow Biz Stain Fighter on Facebook and Twitter!  What a great opportunity...who doesn't need a great stain fighter? Enter to win a 1 year supply!
PRIZE: One winner will receive a 1 Year Supply of Biz Stain Fighter! 

AGE: 18 yrs or older to enter 
LOCATION: Must be a resident of the USA 
DATE: 11/13/2012  to 12/03/2012 at 12:00am. 

 Please wait for the Rafflecopter form to load then enter the mandatory entries that are showing. Once you complete these first few entries, you will "unlock" additional entries for lots more ways to earn entries into the giveaway. The more you enter the more chances to win! a Rafflecopter giveaway 

Disclosure: Lost Island of Book Reviews did not receive compensation for this publication except for two links on the giveaway form. Love2EncourageYou and Lost Island of Book Reviews are not responsible for sponsor prize shipment for the giveaway. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook.